chick pea salad

Published June 10, 2012 by thespottedowl1

I have been wanting to make a chick pea salad for a while so after picking up some fresh ingredients at our local farmers market, I set the kids up with a bin of water outside while I made a salad. My mom used to make these when I was a kid but I have never made my own before. I’ve seen a few recipes on pinterest and I combined 3 of them to make my own with the ingredients I had.
Ingredients:
1 can chick peas/garbanzo beans drained and rinsed
1 pint cherry tomatoes sliced in half
half an onion diced
half a cucumber diced
fresh cilantro to taste ( I added probably 2 tablespoons)
pinch of salt (I used sea salt)
pinch of pepper (I like fresh ground)
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 cloves of garlic, minced
half a lemon squeezed

combine ingredients and let sit in fridge for at least 20 minutes, really the longer the better. Wha la! The perfect summer salad that is fresh and tasty! I think for the next version I will add a can of black beans and a tablespoon of honey, that will really bring this salad to the next level:)

Mmmm, here is the black bean, honey version. Doubled the recipe for a teacher appreciation lunch at my sons school. This new version is also delicious!
Added 1 can of black beans
2 tablespoons honey
Remember this is doubled so forge original recipe it would be half a can black beans and 1 tablespoon honey

20130620-100036.jpg

20130620-100136.jpg

7 comments on “chick pea salad

  • This is delicious. After the first time I made it, I added a can of Hearts of Palm and a can of black beans (rinsed). Then I doubled the lemon juice, olive oil, and balsamic vinegar. Very hearty and yummy! My additions upped the ww points plus to 8 per serving with 5 servings total. Smart and healthy eating! Thank you for sharing this recipe, it has saved my waistline and helped me include meatless meals in my diet πŸ™‚

  • Leave a Reply

