Beet Humous/ Hummus

Published August 14, 2012 by thespottedowl1

Image

 

I love humous. We use it on breads, crackers, veggies, nacho chips, fruit, quesadillas and much more. In fact humous was Stars second food. I’ve never actually made my own humous which now that I know how easy it is seems really shocking and silly. My mom made humous for me while growing up but being an only child of a mother who was a cook….. I never actually learned how to cook for myself but I did know what good food tastes like. Anyhow, since we eat bucket loads of humous and I’m trying hard to cook things myself I decided it was time to make our own. After scouring pinterest for recipes I came across one for beet humous! Wow pink humous! You can find my Pinterest food board containing this recipe here http://pinterest.com/thespottedowl/food-nom-nom-nom/ I did change it to suit my tastes and what I had around the house. Here is what I did.

Beet Humous:

1 can (540 ml) chick peas (garbanzo beans)

3/4 cup            tahini (found mine at the local health food store)

4 Tablespoons chick pea can liquid

1 large clove       garlic

1 squeezed        lemon

1 large               beet

5 tablespoons     olive oil

dash                  salt

dash                  paprika

Chop everything up and throw it all into the blender together (or food processor if you have one). Blend until smooth. Adjust spices to your liking and throw in the fridge to blend flavours. Serve with whatever you please. Yesterday we enjoyed it with garlic naan bread and nacho chips. Today it was used for appleslices and to dip tator tots. Up next avocado humous!

Leave a Reply

