Pumpkin Decorating

Published October 24, 2012 by thespottedowl1

Just a quick post tonight with a quick and easy way to decorate a pumpkin. Even your toddler can help, and mine did. While sitting on the floor looking at a pumpkin with Little Star, I was thinking of ways her and I could decorate that didn’t include carving. Of course the trusty foam stickers came to mind, (found in this post https://thespottedowl1.wordpress.com/2012/10/15/toddler-approved-halloween-crafts/),  but I wanted something a little nicer to look at. Wishing I had lace to cover the pumpkins with BAM Rachel Ray comes on TV. I NEVER watch Rachel Ray but when I saw mention of pumpkins in the info I flipped it on for in the background. TV for background noise is not something I like but on this dark and rainy day it was fine. I digress, so just as I’m thinking about the lace around the pumpkin I look up and see them using a stocking! Like pantyhose type stocking. Genius. I happened to have some never used, never actually going to use cool black stockings in my room. Done. I stretched them out and Star helped push the pumpkins in. We made two. We had two matching pumpkins and my stockings were full so had two legs.

Cut stocking just above the stem of the pumpkin.

Then I used a tiny hair elastic to hold the stocking at the base of the stem. I then folded the excess stocking back into the elastic at the base.

For the next step I tossed around a few ideas. I wish I had a shiny black ribbon to wrap around the stem but I didn’t. I thought about brown packaging string but couldn’t find any. I finally settled on the left over streamers from Suns Dino birthday party. https://thespottedowl1.wordpress.com/?s=dino+party Star loves getting wrapped like a mummy so it was a win-win situation.

I am very happy with how these turned out.

2 comments on “Pumpkin Decorating

  • Leave a Reply

