Carrot ginger soup

Published January 12, 2013 by thespottedowl1

For the past couple weeks we have been eating from a menu I prepared at the beginning of the month. I try to stick to it when I can but sometimes life gets in busy. Keeping to a menu is allowing me to be more organized, try new things and eat healthy. The kids are looking forward to helping me prepare our food which is a really healthy thing. My son even practices his reading with the menu. One of my favourite dinners we have had so far was on Wednesday. Wednesday is soup and sandwich night this month, but probably not next month as I don’t like repetitiveness. I opted for a carrot and ginger soup served with toasted French bread and lemon tuna in scooped out cucumber bowls. Mmmmm. I was originally going to do a tomato bruschetta but after consulting with my mom we agreed the tomato with the carrot ginger might not be great. She was pretty impressed by the cucumber tuna bread less sandwiches. I wish she could have come over to enjoy a bowl of soup but ill make sure to cook this for her one day. My mom is the reason I wanted to do this soup. I’m lucky to have grown up with a wonderful cook and healthy mama. Carrot juices and ginger teas were part of my childhood. I had high hopes for this soup.

I found the recipe on http://www.foodnetwork.com
This recipe is from their site but I have added the changes I made. The directions are all mine.

Serves 4
Ingredients
2 tablespoons butter
2 onions peeled and chopped (I only used 3/4 of a large white onion as that is what I had on hand and we aren’t huge onion fans)
6 cups chicken broth (I used vegetable broth)
2 lbs carrots peeled and sliced (I used 5 large carrots)
2 tablespoons grated fresh ginger (this was a piece of ginger about 3.5″)
1cup whipping cream
Salt and white pepper (I used fresh ground black)
Sour cream
Parsley sprigs for garnish (I omitted)

Directions

Using a 6 quart pan with lid melt butter over medium high heat. Add chopped onions and cook until limp. As I cooked the onions I chopped carrots. Make sure you stir the onions often or they will brown. Add broth, carrots and ginger. Cover and bring to boil. Reduce the heat and simmer until carrots are tender. The time on this will vary depending on how thick you cut your carrots. About 35-40 minutes.
Remove from heat and let sit atleast 5 minutes before transferring to a blender. I had never blended something hot before, I read to leave a corner of the blender open and cover with a thick cloth. Please be careful with this part and google how to if you must. You must prevent a vacuum seal and heat explosion by venting and online filling the blender half way.
Pulse blender to start then purée until smooth. Throw it back in the pan, add whipping cream and bring it to a slow boil. Add salt and pepper to taste. Ladle into bowls and add a spoon of sour cream into the centre. The soup would be fine without this part and indeed I ate my second bowl without it but it does add a nice taste when dipping bread. Try it both ways.

For dipping I sliced French bread, laid the slices on a pan, drizzled with oil and broiled until slightly crispy.

For our sandwich portion of the meal I totally didn’t do a sandwich. I chopped a cucumber into 6 pieces, scooped out the centres and filled them with lemon pepper canned tuna. Mmm. The kids really loved them.

This recipe is staying in my files and will certainly be enjoyed again.

20130112-232423.jpg

Leave a Reply

